School Health Services

  • Students must be healthy to be educated and educated to be healthy.

    Our Health Team

    Our school site health offices are staffed by one of our health team members. The SMMUSD health team includes: Registered Credentialed School Nurses (RCSN), Health Office Specialists (HOS) and a Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN). When a student enters one of our school health offices, they may encounter a RCSN, LVN or HOS. We collaboratively provide equitable care for students across the district.

    School Nurses

    Each school site has a designated School Nurse overseeing health services. School Nurses are licensed Registered Nurses with an additional credential obtained through further education. RCSNs may oversee multiple schools. Our School Nurses follow evidence based practice and are involved in:

    • Creating health care plans
    • Medication management
    • Vaccination compliance
    • Illness prevention
    • Emergency planning & response
    • Managing chronic mental/physical conditions in the school setting
    • State-mandated hearing & vision screenings
    • Maximizing attendance
    • Staff inservices & training
    • Teaching health promotion, health literacy, and disease prevention
    • Providing health education to students, staff and families
    • Connecting student and families to resources
    • Promoting age appropriate independence and self-advocacy skills for students with medical needs
    • Collaborating with site educators & specialists to increase student success by participating in SST meetings, IEP meetings, 504 plans etc.
    • Working with LA County Department of Public Health to prevent and report communicable conditions in the school setting

     

    Venice Family Clinic at Santa Monica High School

    SMMUSD partners with Venice Family Clinic at Santa Monica High School. This on-site clinic allows SMMUSD students to make appointments with a physician for any health concerns. The doctor is on site Tuesday & Thursday from 8am-12pm and can provide sports physicals, immunizations, chronic health management, reproductive health management and other screenings as needed. To schedule an appointment, call: (310) 392-8636.

     

    Mental Health Needs at School

    Please visit our Mental Health & Community Resources page for more information.    

     

    School Health Office Contact Information

    Santa Monica Schools

    Santa Monica High (310)-395-3204 x71551

    School Nurse: Maryam Hajarolasvadi, RN

    Health Support Staff: Ismael Garcia Ortega, LVN iortegagarcia@smmusd.org & Katie Gershuni, HOS kgershuni@smmusd.org 

    Olympic High (310) 392-2494 x66125

    School Nurse: Bernadette O’Donnell, RN bodonnell@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Raquel Thompson, HOS rthompson@smmusd.org 

    John Adams Middle (310) 452-2326 x72210

    School Nurse: Barrett Gottlieb, RN bgottlieb@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Leslie Torres, HOS ltorres@smmusd.org 

    Lincoln Middle (310) 393-9227 x73571

    School Nurse: Jackie Mejia, RN jmejia@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Shirin Khodadadi, HOS skhodadadi@smmusd.org 

    Edison Language Academy (310) 828-0335 x61301

    School Nurse: Kristen Furano, RN kfurano@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Diane Gonzales, HOS d.gonzalez@smmusd.org 

    Franklin Elementary (310) 828-2814 x62209

    School Nurse: Odessa Ervin, RN

    Health Support Staff: Karla Madsen, HOS kmadsen@smmusd.org & Monica Aldana, HOS maldana@smmusd.org 

    Grant Elementary (310) 450-7651 x63122

    School Nurse: Kristen Furano, RN kfurano@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Nancy Flores, HOS nflores@smmusd.org 

    McKinley Elementary (310) 828-5011 x65119

    School Nurse: Daniel Gorton, RN dgorton@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Alondra Ortiz, HOS aortiz@smmusd.org 

    Roosevelt Elementary (310) 395-0941 x68206

    School Nurse: Odessa Ervin, RN

    Health Support Staff: Magdalena Ayala, HOS mayala@smmusd.org 

    SMASH (310) 396-2640 x77209

    School Nurse: Julie Grey, RN jgrey@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Nicole Rovetto, HOS nrovetto@smmusd.org 

    Will Rogers Elementary (310) 452-2364 x67332

    School Nurse: Julie Grey, RN jgrey@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Carla Myriekes, HOS cmyrieckes@smmusd.org 

    SMMUSD CDS

    School Nurse: Bernadette O'Donnell, RN bodonnell@smmusd

    Malibu Schools

    Malibu High  / Middle (310) 457-6801 x74271

    School Nurse: Marion Mayer, RN mmayer@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Nidra Winger, HOS nwinger@smmusd.org 

    Malibu Elementary (310) 456-6494 x69303

    School Nurse: Marion Mayer, RN mmayer@smmusd.org 

    Health Support Staff: Yolanda Hernandez, HOS yhernandez@smmusd.org 

    Webster Elementary (310) 456-6494 x69303

    School Nurse: Daniel Gorton, RN dgorton@smmusd.org

    Health Support Staff: Brenda Miller, HOS bmiller@smmusd.org 

     

     

    District Coordinating Nurse

    Priscilla Guzman, RN pguzman@smmusd.org  

    District Office (310)-450-8338 x70218